|
Over the weekend, what was thought to be Sega's official Dreamcast website, Dreamcast.com , was updated in preperation for the console's 10 year anniversary. Accordingly, it was asked of visitors "Do you still own a Dreamcast?", and if you did, you were politely requested to provide your console's serial number, and accept an end user agreement in order to receive an @dreamcast.com personal email address, its purpose unknown.
Grind those gears to a halt, interweb trickery is afoot here. Sega caught wind of this and thought "Hey, we did no such thing, what gives?", now we know . Apparently, Sega does not own the Dreamcast website anymore, and whomever is behind the now-existing site is a fraud, commiting a cruel phishing scam on loyal gamers. Yikes, looks like Mr. Imposter is using all of the Dreamcast and Sega logo's quite illegally, that's not good.
What's this mean for you? Well, if you've gone ahead and registered, you better change your passwords for the email address you provided, just in case. Sega drops word that are looking into the matter, and are considering "appropriate measures" to be taken. Damn you, [temporarily] anonymous phishers.
Trackback(0)
|